Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox LIVE sees first film premiere

Xbox LIVE sees first film premiere

Wed 06 Feb 2013 11:45am GMT / 6:45am EST / 3:45am PST
OnlineMedia

Console chosen as first distribution platform for British comedy

Next month will see the Xbox LIVE service host its first ever film premiere, as Brit feature film Pulp will debut on the Microsoft service.

"Microsoft might not seem like the obvious partner for an indie comedy, but the film industry has changed," said co-director Adam Hamdy.

"Xbox 360 can instantly distribute Pulp to millions of UK customers, and publicise the release in ways that simply aren't possible with traditional releasing models."

The film will be available exclusively on Xbox 360 from March 4, and features Cold Feet and Coronation Street star John Thomson. It recently won the Jury Prize at the Las Vegas International Film Festival.

"Many people in the film business talk about the threat digital media poses to film, but, as newcomers to the industry, all we can see are opportunities," added producer Phil Bland.

"Microsoft is an exciting partner, and the fact they can release our film to millions of customers at the push of a button is very attractive."

1 Comment

Paul Jace Merchandiser

939 1,420 1.5
The film doesn't look that interesting to me but I'm willing to give it a try, provided this is also available to XBL users in the US.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now