Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

The secrets of Minecraft's appeal laid bare

The secrets of Minecraft's appeal laid bare

Wed 06 Feb 2013 8:31am GMT / 3:31am EST / 12:31am PST
Casual

Britt McTammany's 2 minute short film finds fun at the core

Minecraft's name is synonymous with indie success, with a vision of fun which hasn't relied on 200-strong development teams, high-end hardware or graphical firepower. More than a few rivals have taken aim at emulating Mojang's blockbuster, on many platforms, but the incredible reach of Minecraft remains elusive.

Here, film maker and photographer Brit McTammany asks two expert consultants exactly what they think the reasons for the game's success are, with some surprisingly simple answers: co-operation, creation and fun.

It's also the first time I've heard a ten year old using the words 'voxel' and 'biome'.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now