Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Metacritic names EA "major publisher of the year"

Metacritic names EA "major publisher of the year"

Wed 06 Feb 2013 3:14pm GMT / 10:14am EST / 7:14am PST
MediaPublishing

Only company to achieve an average of 75+ from at least 15 games

EA has been named the best major publisher of 2012 by Metacritic, finishing the year with an overall Metacritic average of 75.2 per cent.

EA's highest ranked game of 2012 was Mass Effect 3, nailing a rating of 93 percent. Best original IP was Kingdoms of Amalur at 83 per cent - sadly not enough to save 38 Studios from an ignominious demise. EA's worst game of the year was the bland and buggy Medal of Honor: Warfighter, which only managed 53 out of a hundred.

Following EA is last year's winner Microsoft with 73 per cent - scoring high with 91 per cent for Mark of the Ninja as best game and best new IP, but also stooping to the depths of Bloodforge's 42. In third is Sony at 72.3 per cent, fourth is held by Nintendo with 71.2 and fifth is Capcom at 70.4.

The rest of the top ten consists of Warner, Ubisoft, Konami, SEGA and Activision Blizzard.

Metacritic publishes the ratings every year, splitting games publishers into two groups: companies who have published at least 15 games that year and those who put out less. Results for the highest averaging small studios will be announced later today.

1

Image courtesy of Metacritic.

1 Comment

Paul Jace Merchandiser

942 1,428 1.5
Had they not released Medal of Honor their score would have likely hit 80% or came very close to it.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now