Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Disney Interactive pulls in $9 million in Q1

Disney Interactive pulls in $9 million in Q1

Wed 06 Feb 2013 2:48am GMT / 9:48pm EST / 6:48pm PST
BusinessFinanceFinancial

Mobile and social push the division forward

The Walt Disney Company released its reported earnings for the first fiscal quarter end on December 29, 2012, including the Disney Interactive software division. Disney Interactive's revenue for the quarter totaled $291 million, up 4 percent from the previous year. Profit for the division improved from a net loss of $28 million in fiscal Q1 2012 to a net income of $9 million this quarter.

Disney Interactive pointed to growth in the company's licensed Japanese mobile titles and lower user acquisition costs in its social business for the improved profits.

Disney Interactive released only a few titles during the quarter, including Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two, Epic Mickey: Power of Illusion, Toy Story Mania, and Wreck-it Ralph. The division recently closed Epic Mickey 2 developer Junction Point, leaving Disney Interactive with two console-focused development studios, Disney Infinity developer Avalanche Software and Guilty Party developer Wideload Games.

1 Comment

Greg Costikyan
Senior Game Designer

7 10 1.4
Plus LucasArts, at least once the Lucasfilm acquisition is complete. Also "only a few titles" ignores the many titles launched by Disney Mobile and Disney Playdom, which are part of the division; social and mobile may not be on your horizon, but they're an increasing part of the pie.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now