Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Amazon introduces virtual currency for Appstore

By Mike Williams

Amazon introduces virtual currency for Appstore

Tue 05 Feb 2013 10:07pm GMT / 5:07pm EST / 2:07pm PST

Kindle Fire developers have access another monetization strategy

Amazon strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

Amazon has announced the launch of its new virtual currency, Amazon Coins, allowing U.S. customers to buy apps and in-app items on the Amazon Appstore for Android. The currency will be launching in May, with one Amazon Coin being worth one cent according to the Amazon Developer FAQ.

Amazon Coins work like any other payment method for the Appstore and developers still receive the same 70 percent revenue share for their use. Developers who use the latest Amazon Mobile App SDK don't have to make any changes to their app to use Amazon Coins.

To commemorate the May launch of the new monetization option, Amazon will be giving away "tens of millions" of Coins to customers. Amazon expects developers to have their new apps and app updates submitted and approved by April 25th in order to participate in the launch.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now