Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Tecmo Koei returns to healthy profits in Q3

Tecmo Koei returns to healthy profits in Q3

Mon 04 Feb 2013 10:27am GMT / 5:27am EST / 2:27am PST
PublishingDevelopment

Net profits up 290 per cent despite marginal revenue increase

Tecmo Koei saw a huge leap in net profits for the third-quarter of fiscal year 2013 as operating income improved right across the company.

For the three-month period ended December 31 2012, Tecmo Koei posted revenues of 22.2 billion ($238.4m/151.5m), a slight 6.5 per cent increase year-on-year. However, net profits soared by 291.7 per cent to hit 2.6 billion ($27.9m/17.7m).

Game Software contributed the highest proportion of total sales, up 9.8 per cent year-on-year to 14.6 billion ($156.8m/99.6m). Operating income for the company's Game Software business was up 83.6 per cent to 2.5 billion ($26.8m/17m).

The only division that didn't see an increase in either revenue, operating income or both was Online and Mobile, which reported a 10 per cent drop in sales to 3.8 billion ($40.8m/25.9m), and a 44.2 per cent drop in operating income to 418 million ($4.4m/2.8m).

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now