Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Kongregate launches $10m fund for mobile developers

Kongregate launches $10m fund for mobile developers

Mon 04 Feb 2013 1:26pm GMT / 8:26am EST / 5:26am PST
MobilePublishingDevelopment

Former Zynga general manager to oversee new programme

GameStop owned game portal Kongregate is launching a new programme for free-to-play mobile game developers, and it's signed up former Zynga general manager Panayoti Haritatos to oversee it.

"Developers are increasingly finding it harder to get their games discovered through the different app stores," said Haritatos.

"I personally faced these challenges in 2009 while managing my own game studio. Utilising the Kongregate platform made my games successful, which ultimately led to my studio being acquired by Zynga."

The programme offers financial assistance to help developers finish their game in the form of cash advances for final builds and integration, support to help with testing, QA and monetisation and marketing through the GameStop iOS and Android apps. The company has committed a $10 million fund to the project.

Kongregate was founded in 2006, and was acquired by GameStop in 2010. Developers can upload games directly to the Kongregate site, and then receive a cut of any advertising and virtual items revenue. Late last year it added the free-to-play downloadable games feather to its online gaming cap.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now