Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Temple Run 2 hits 50m downloads in two weeks

Temple Run 2 hits 50m downloads in two weeks

Thu 31 Jan 2013 3:52pm GMT / 10:52am EST / 7:52am PST
MobilePublishingDevelopment

Imangi Studios' sequel surpasses Angry Birds Space as the fastest growing mobile game to date

Imangi Studios' Temple Run 2 reached 50 million downloads in its first two weeks, setting a new record for a mobile game.

Angry Birds Space was the previous fastest game to hit 50 million downloads across all platforms, but it took 35 days to reach that target. Temple Run 2 managed it in just 13 days.

"Temple Run has evolved into something so much bigger than us," said Imangi co-founder Keith Shepherd. "The game has performed beyond our wildest dreams, and we are thrilled that gamers and fans have embraced Temple Run 2 in such a short period of time."

Temple Run 2 is free-to-play, and was downloaded more than 6 million times within 24 hours of being launched on the iOS App Store. However, subsequent releases on Google Play and the Amazon Marketplace pushed the game to new heights of popularity, though it is still some way short of Temple Run's 170 million downloads.

1 Comment

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,716 598 0.3
Well done.
Gaming has at long last become a mass global cultural phenomenon.
In a way well beyond movies, books or television.
These are golden times for the games industry.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now