Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Wargaming moves to consoles with $20m purchase of Day 1 Studios

Wargaming moves to consoles with $20m purchase of Day 1 Studios

Tue 29 Jan 2013 2:31pm GMT / 9:31am EST / 6:31am PST
PublishingDevelopment

Team behind F.E.A.R. and Fracture join free-to-play World of Tanks creator

World of Tanks creator Wargaming.net has acquired Day 1 Studios for $20 million.

The Chicago studio will focus solely on console gaming for the MMO company, working on an as yet undisclosed title. The studio is best known for ports of first-person shooter F.E.A.R. and LucasArts' Fracture.

The studio has been renamed Wargaming West.

"The move into console game development is a huge step for Wargaming, as we begin to expand our presence into new platforms," said Victor Kislyi, CEO of Wargaming. "We are looking forward to sharing the fruits of our labor soon."

Denny Thorley, head of the studio, added: "Wargaming is a clear leader in the free-to-play space and helps set the standard on which all other games in the genre strive for."

"Our team is extremely excited to start the first console project for Wargaming."

1 Comment

Elphège Kolingba
Marketing Manager

16 2 0.1

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now