Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

HMV to begin accepting gift cards tomorrow

HMV to begin accepting gift cards tomorrow

Mon 21 Jan 2013 1:50pm GMT / 8:50am EST / 5:50am PST
Retail

Retailer also clarifies charity singles situation

HMV, which went into administration last week, has confirmed that it will begin accepting gift vouchers again from tomorrow.

The news was confirmed in a statement from joint administrator Nick Edwards.

"The ability of Administrators to honour gift vouchers will depend on the specific circumstances of each case. Since our appointment as Joint Administrators on Tuesday afternoon, we have been urgently assessing the Companies' financial position.

"I am pleased to confirm that, having concluded this assessment, we are able to honour gift cards. I can also confirm that all money raised by HMV for various charities will be paid in full. We recognise that both of these matters have caused concern for individuals and organisations affected and are pleased to have reached a positive outcome."

"We will continue to assess the longer term options for the business whilst continuing to trade. I am hopeful this process will result in the business continuing as a going concern."

The company went into administration with Deloitte last week, and angered customers when it stopped accepted gift cards, many of which had been purchased over the Christmas period.

The retailer also confirmed that money raised by sales of charity singles like the Hillsborough Justice Collective single would be paid as soon as possible.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now