Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA brings SimCity to the classroom

EA brings SimCity to the classroom

Sun 20 Jan 2013 6:24am GMT / 1:24am EST / 10:24pm PST
Education

SimCityEDU is a new EA-developed learning tool

Electronic Arts and digital learning non-profit GlassLab have announced SimCityEDU, an online community and resource based on EA Maxis' SimCity. SimCityEDU will allow teachers to create SimCity-based lesson plans to help students learn about the issues facing modern cities and towns.

"For decades, SimCity has been embraced by the educational community as an engaging videogame that also provides a powerful learning experience, teaching problem solving skills through imaginative civic gameplay," said EA Maxis senior vice president and general manager Lucy Bradshaw.

"We want to up the ante of SimCity's educational influence. Through our partnership with GlassLab, SimCity will become the foundation of a program to re-imagine learning in a way that will inspire today's youth to get excited about STEM education and become the problem solvers of tomorrow."

No specific release window for the SimCityEDU tool was given, though it will probably come after SimCity's March 5, 2012 release date.

1 Comment

Kevin Clark-Patterson
Lecturer in Games Development

294 27 0.1
It is a shame that it has took so long to realise the 'real-world' application for a simulation 'game' in terms of educating people.

Something as powerful as SimCity as a game has excellent potential as a teaching tool in the classroom given the right context, especially for something along the lines of www.scogatt.eu

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now