Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bohemia Interactive developers return home from Greek prison

Bohemia Interactive developers return home from Greek prison

Fri 18 Jan 2013 10:45am GMT / 5:45am EST / 2:45am PST
PeopleLegal

Staff accused of photographing high security installation still face trial

Bohemia Interactive

Established in 1999 in Prague, Czech Republic, Bohemia Interactive is an independent game development...

bistudio.com

Ivan Buchta and Martin Pezlar, two members of Bohemia Interactive who have been incarcerated in a Greek jail since September, 2012 for 'spying', have returned to their homeland of the Czech Republic.

The pair still face trial in Greece but have been allowed to return home to visit family, which should also ease some of the tension which has developed between the two nations during the crisis. Czech president Vaclav Klaus has petitioned the Greek government to reassess the charges, writing that "This case is very sensitive to the Czech public and also to me as President of the Republic. The fate of our citizens anywhere in the world matters to us."

The developers were accused of spying, which carries a maximum penalty of 20 years imprisonment, after allegedly snapping pictures of a Greek military base during a fact finding mission for the development of ARMA 3.

3 Comments

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
Very good news. Four months out of their life. Presumably learning Greek!

Posted:A year ago

#1

Joshua Rose
Executive Producer / Lead Designer

191 81 0.4
I have a feeling they won't be going back to Greece any time soon (or ever)...

Any Greek they may have learned certainly won't be used in Greece lol.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Hugo Dubs
Interactive Designer

163 24 0.1
Trials in Greece

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now