Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GitHub sees 3 millionth member account

GitHub sees 3 millionth member account

Thu 17 Jan 2013 8:54am GMT / 3:54am EST / 12:54am PST
Development

Collaborative development network showing exponential growth

GitHub, the network which facilitates collaborative development for any project using the Git revision control system, has passed its three millionth member during the company's winter business summit.

The service took three years from foundation in 2008 to secure its first million users, a milestone which it passed in September 2011. Since then, growth has accelerated rapidly and is expected to at least double over the coming 18 months. Nearly five million projects are currently stored on the network.

As well as providing a repository for open source code, the service offers wikis and tutorials, slide hosting services and other social features enabling programmers to work together to solve coding problems. In July last year, the service raised $100 million in funding from Andreessen Horowitz.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now