Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Kabam acquires Vancouver's Exploding Barrel Games

Kabam acquires Vancouver's Exploding Barrel Games

Tue 15 Jan 2013 2:04pm GMT / 9:04am EST / 6:04am PST
Development

Free-to-play company adds another indie studio to its stable

Free-to-play company Kabam, best known for Kingdoms of Camelot, has acquired Exploding Barrel Games for an undisclosed amount.

EBG is a British Columbia-based studio, and so far it's released Margaritaville Online, which recently won best social/casual game at the Canadian Videogame Awards.

"We blew away our targets for 2012," Kabam CEO Kevin Chou told GamesBeat.

"We did much better than we publicly talked about. It was a phenomenal growth year for us. That's why we felt it was the right time to acquire EBG."

Kabam recently acquired Wild Shadow Studios, best known for Realm of the Mad God.

EBG president Scott Blackwood added "Kabam is at the top of their game in the free-to-play space. We learned a lot working with them."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now