Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Blizzard raises $2.3m for Sandy survivors

Blizzard raises $2.3m for Sandy survivors

Mon 14 Jan 2013 9:29am GMT / 4:29am EST / 1:29am PST
Charity

Cinder Kitten pet helps out American Red Cross

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Blizzard and World Of Warcraft players have raised $2.3 million to help those affected by Hurricane Sandy through sales of a virtual pet.

The $10 Cinder Kitten went on sale early last month, with 100 per cent of the cost going to the American Red Cross's Superstorm Sandy relief efforts to help it provide food, shelter and support to those affected by the disaster.

"The community embraced this fiery feline in droves, helping out a great cause in the process. Thanks again to everyone who helped make a difference," said Blizzard in a statement.

Last year Blizzard raised $330,000 for charity through the sale of retired World of Warcraft server blades.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now