Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Skylanders revenue tops $500m in the US

Skylanders revenue tops $500m in the US

Fri 11 Jan 2013 1:48pm GMT / 8:48am EST / 5:48am PST
RetailPublishing

Game and toy sales push hybrid IP to huge success

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision Blizzard's popular toy-game hybrid Skylanders has now earned more than $500 million for the company in the U.S. market.

The figure includes Skylanders Spyro's Adventures and Skylanders Giants, and the physical figures and accessory packs that accompany them. According to data released by Activision, Skylanders Giants generated $195 million of the $500 million total.

"Just a year ago, the concept of bringing toys to life in a virtual world was an untested play pattern that Activision and Toys For Bob believed in," said Joshua Taub, vice president of product management at Activision Publishing.

"Now the category has been established in the market and embraced by parents and kids everywhere."

The Skylanders brand is now bolstered by a web of 120 licensing deals for branded products in a broad range of retail categories: plush toys, clothing, board games, school equipment and home furnishings among others.

1 Comment

Wesley Williams
Quality Assurance

131 68 0.5
Completely deserved. Although the price gouging on figures at retail this year is decidedly underhanded.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now