Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft testing streamlined Xbox Live region migration

Microsoft testing streamlined Xbox Live region migration

Fri 04 Jan 2013 2:56am GMT / 9:56pm EST / 6:56pm PST
Online

You'll soon be able to take your Xbox Live account to a new country

Microsoft will soon allow users to transfer their Xbox Live accounts between regions with a shorter turnaround time, anonymous sources have told Neowin. Currently, the process can take up to six weeks, during which a user is completely locked out of their account.

The pilot program only allows holders to migrate their accounts once every three months. Your gamer tag, achievements, Gold subscription time, and Microsoft points will all move with the migration.

Certain services are region-locked, meaning apps related to those services won't transfer over. Your Lovefilm app won't be coming to the United States with you. Neowin also states that the new Xbox Music subscriptions will also not survive the transition and remaining time will not be refunded.

There's no word on when Microsoft will actually launch the new process.

1 Comment

Roland Austinat
roland austinat media productions|consulting

112 56 0.5
Thank God! Been trying this for over eight years now. Well done, Microsoft!

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now