Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Elite: Dangerous clears Kickstarter goal

Elite: Dangerous clears Kickstarter goal

Thu 03 Jan 2013 8:55am GMT / 3:55am EST / 12:55am PST
Development

Frontier Developments on track for project

Cambridge's Frontier Developments has surpassed the 1,250,000 target for its Elite: Dangerous Kickstarter campaign, hitting funding goals with two days to spare.

The campaign appeal site has yet to be updates since the target was reached, but last night staff were confident that the company would hit its targets. With the funding total now over 25,000 in excess of that goal, success is virtually guaranteed.

The team is still urging potential customers to pledge in order to hit stretch goals such as extra playable ships and a swift port to Mac OS, but the project should see a definite commercial release thanks to the campaign.

Frontier and its head David Braben have been under pressure from fans for some years to create a fourth game in the much loved Elite series, which first debuted in 1984 on the Acorn Electron. Completion of the game is scheduled for March 2014.

3 Comments

Seriously hope this is much more like the original Elite than any of the Frontier games...!

Posted:A year ago

#1

Justin Biddle
Software Developer

159 484 3.0
Maybe my memory fails me but the core gameplay was identical on all three games wasn't it?

Posted:A year ago

#2
Yes, though the Electron version was seriously cut down.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now