Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Koch Media invests in F2P dev Infernum Productions

Koch Media invests in F2P dev Infernum Productions

Tue 18 Dec 2012 9:36am GMT / 4:36am EST / 1:36am PST
PublishingDevelopment

German firm gets a foothold in free-to-play with strategic minority acquisition

The German gaming firm Koch Media/Deep Silver has acquired a minority stake in the Berlin-based developer, Infernum Productions AG.

Koch's investment was motivated by Infernum's success in the free-to-play market with its first release, Brick Force, which has more than 1.5 million players.

"We see great opportunities for growth in the area of free-to-play online gaming,” said Koch Media CEO Klemens Kundratitz in a statement. “Through our strategic investment, we want to support Infernum on the way to becoming a leading provider in the free-to-play market, and to participate in the enormous business potential."

With Koch's backing, Infernum can proceed with expanding operations on two fronts: with in-house productions like the forthcoming Project: Theralon, and licensing MMOs from foreign markets, as it did recently with Dragon's Prophet.

"We are very happy to have Koch Media at our side now, a partner that is both experienced and visionary, and who will open up brand new opportunities for us with its distribution know-how, its international positioning, and its powerful brands,” added Infernum CEO Andreas Weidenhaupt. “This cooperation will enable us to take on an even more important role in our rapidly growing market."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now