Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix makes cuts at LA office

Square Enix makes cuts at LA office

Mon 17 Dec 2012 5:18am GMT / 12:18am EST / 9:18pm PST
BusinessPeople

The publisher confirms an undisclosed number of layoffs

Publisher Square Enix has laid off an undisclosed number of employees at its LA offices. The company confirmed the cuts after Massively reported receiving numerous anonymous tips.

“In order to ensure it is operating effectively, the Square Enix Los Angeles office has reduced its workforce. This was a difficult decision and we wish the best for those affected by these changes. The decision will not have any impact on the operations of MMO titles. Customers can expect those services to continue, including the upcoming launch of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn,” Square Enix senior director of Public Relations Riley Brennan told Massively in a statement.

There's been no mention of which departments were affected by the layoffs. GamesIndustry International hopes those affected find new employment soon.

1 Comment

Bruce Everiss Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
Why so many just before Christmas? Are managers looking to go into the new year with a better optimised workforce?
Obviously commiserations to all involved and good luck with finding new positions.
The positive is that the game industry is booming just now. Here in Silicon Spa we seem to get a new startup game developer every month!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now