Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA dropped from NASDAQ 100

EA dropped from NASDAQ 100

Mon 17 Dec 2012 3:56pm GMT / 10:56am EST / 7:56am PST
Financial

Madden publisher falls from the the exchange's list of largest non-financial companies

The NASDAQ exchange is giving Electronic Arts a lump of coal for Christmas, dropping the publisher from its NASDAQ-100 Index effective December 24. The index is a collection of the 100 largest non-financial stocks (based on market capitalization) listed on the NASDAQ exchange, and is adjusted each December.

This year's readjustment will see a bit of churn, with 10 companies falling off the index. Joining Electronic Arts on the way out are a handful of stumbling companies including Netflix and Blackberry-maker Research in Motion. The companies replacing them include storage specialists Western Digital, data center operator Equinix, and Liberty Media Corporation (owner of Starz and the Atlanta Braves).

Though EA is gone, the NASDAQ-100 retains a handful of companies with gaming interests, including Microsoft, Activision Blizzard, Intel, Google, and Apple.

3 Comments

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,716 598 0.3
This is big news.
Many investment institutions will no longer need to hold EA stock.
There is no doubting that EA has underperformed in recent years. I remember when they totally dominated the Christmas charts every year.
The bright light is their digital strategy, which is well ahead of most big traditional publishers and which has the potential to leverage their great heritage IP for the new gaming age.

Posted:A year ago

#1
EA Sports are very strong

Posted:A year ago

#2

Neil Millstone
Director

32 12 0.4
So only one pure games company in the NASDAQ 100? That is disappointing.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now