Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

6,600 jobs gone as Comet closes its doors

6,600 jobs gone as Comet closes its doors

Mon 17 Dec 2012 10:31am GMT / 5:31am EST / 2:31am PST
Retail

UK retailer's remaining shops will close on December 18, staff to be paid £2.1 million

The UK electrical retailer Comet will close all of its remaining stores, resulting in the loss of around 6,600 jobs.

The closures and redundancies were confirmed to MCV UK by Comet's administrator Deloitte, though news of the problems at the near 80 year old retailer began to surface at the start of November.

A number of stores closed over the weekend, though the rest will cease trading on December 18. Comet's employees will be paid £2.1 million in holiday pay and outstanding wages.

While a rescue bid seems increasingly unlikely, Retail Week reports that Deloitte is in discussions with property magnate Clive Coombes. The online retailers DRL and Shop Direct are also believed to be interested in the Comet brand and website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now