Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Strategy specialists Slitherine and Ageod merge

Strategy specialists Slitherine and Ageod merge

Wed 05 Dec 2012 12:00pm GMT / 7:00am EST / 4:00am PST
PublishingDevelopment

UK and French businesses join forces in niche genre

UK strategy game publisher and developer Slitherine has merged with French rival Ageod.

Both companies create and distribute multiple niche titles in the strategy genre across PC, console and tablet formats, with Slitherine alone releasing more than 30 titles this year.

Ageod will join the Slitherine Group, which also includes Matrix Games, to focus primarily on developing the Age engine.

"Ageod's core values have always been close to our own and this merger just seemed such a natural step for us all," said Slitherine's JD McNeil.

"Together the three companies in the Group are much stronger, we are now able to share resources, ideas and plans for the new generation of titles that our audience is crying out for. I am sure our fans will be just as excited by this news as we are".

In the short term Aegod will continue to operate and sell games via its existing website and will eventually adopt Slitherine's copy protection and e-commerce systems.

"Ageod has a large community of loyal fans and we have continued to expand this over the years by making our players a part of the development process," offered Philippe Thibaut, co-founder of Ageod.

"With the Slitherine Group we now have access to secure funding and an even bigger community of strategy gamers, so we will be able to create bigger and better games, on a variety of platforms."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now