Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Japan slaps import ban on Nintendo DS flash carts

Japan slaps import ban on Nintendo DS flash carts

Mon 26 Nov 2012 9:17pm GMT / 4:17pm EST / 1:17pm PST
Legal

The Japanese government steps up its war against R4 carts

The Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry has announced an import ban on Nintendo DS flash carts, according to Japanese site 47News (translated via Kotaku). The flash carts allow users to play pirated game on their DS systems, and have been a big problem for the Nintendo in the region.

The sale of the R4 flash carts in Japan has been illegal since 2009. Nintendo has been fighting a war against the devices worldwide, with similar bans being instituted in the UK, Italy, Spain, France, and Taiwan. Legal cases against specific distributors in Australia, Germany, and the UK have also been wins for Nintendo.

Selling the thing at all doesn't seem to be a winning strategy these days.

3 Comments

Christopher Bowen
Editor in Chief

402 526 1.3
All this is going to do is enable local Yakuza to sell them black market.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Andy Samson
QA Supervisor

225 170 0.8
Why would the yakuza waste their resources selling a device that cripples a company they protect?

Posted:A year ago

#2

David Radd
Senior Editor

358 78 0.2
This is part of the reason why Nintendo shifted to a new portable console because piracy had gotten so bad on the DS. Really though, any people that want the R4 probably have them by this point - official channels are always slow to react to things like this.

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now