Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GOG.com announces Windows 8 support

GOG.com announces Windows 8 support

Mon 26 Nov 2012 8:40pm GMT / 3:40pm EST / 12:40pm PST

Old games meet new operating system

GOG.com has announced that it has fixed and tested 431 titles in its catalog to work with Microsoft's new operating system, Windows 8. GOG estimates that those 431 games represent 90 percent of its available catalog.

“So as of today we're adding official Windows 8 support for most of the games in GOG.com catalog,” the company said in its announcement. “There are currently 431 titles fixed, tested, and reported to be working properly under Microsoft's new OS. Note that most of these have not had the master builds updated, so you shouldn't need to redownload the installer or anything.”

“Some of the titles, our build ninjas performed their usual magic on, and they'll work now in Windows 8--and we're even adding Windows 7 support to a few. We'll also be adding more Windows 8 games as time goes by and we've got time to apply some fixes to more of the classic games in the catalog.”

Windows 8 compatibility will be listed alongside other platforms on each title's GOG page.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now