Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

3DS sales near 6 million in US

3DS sales near 6 million in US

Tue 20 Nov 2012 9:52pm GMT / 4:52pm EST / 1:52pm PST
Hardware

Nintendo of America updates domestic installed base for 3D handheld

Between the 3DS and the 3DS XL, Nintendo has sold nearly 6 million handhelds in the United States since the system's March 2011 debut. The company revealed the updated figure in an announcement for a new Super Mario 3D Land 3DS hardware bundle set to hit store shelves this Friday.

While the company didn't give updated information on the rest of the world, it did release figures through September 30 in its last quarterly financial report. Worldwide, Nintendo has sold 22.19 million 3DS systems (2.1 million of which were 3DS XL models). Japan has accounted for 7.94 million 3DS systems, the Americas have combined for 7.38 million, and the rest of the world was credited with buying the remaining 6.88 million.

Nintendo also expects 3DS sales to accelerate significantly through the holidays. The company is forecasting sales of 17.5 million 3DS systems for the fiscal year ending March 30, 2013. By the end of its fiscal first half, it had sold 5.06 million units, less than one third of that forecast.

1 Comment

Jason Pullara Podcaster

28 70 2.5
I think this article means to say that Nintendo has predicted 17.5m 3DS units sold in the americas, while only selling 5.06m units in its latest report.

I think that's what it means to say. Otherwise, as its worded, Nintendo has outpaced its own projections by an incredible margin.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now