Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

OnLive launches on LG's Google TVs

OnLive launches on LG's Google TVs

Thu 15 Nov 2012 9:24pm GMT / 4:24pm EST / 1:24pm PST
Hardware

The game streaming service checks off another box

OnLive has announced the release of its game-streaming app on LG G2 Series TVs powered by Google TV. The OnLive/LG partnership was first revealed during this year's E3, where OnLive demoed the service on LG televisions. No extra console is necessary, just OnLive's wireless controller. Current LG G2 owners can download an update for their sets, while the app will come pre-installed on all LG G2's sold from now on.

“We are proud to be working with OnLive to deliver an incredible home entertainment experience with a full range of interactive viewing and gaming possibilities on LG G2 Series TVs,” said Georg Rasinski, Director of Home Entertainment Brand Management, LG Electronics USA. “OnLive's premium-quality gaming service offers customers a great opportunity to test the dual-core performance of our G2 Series TVs. We think customers will be very impressed.”

“Our partnership with LG has enabled us to take an important step forward in making high-end gaming accessible to everyone, across a variety of consumer electronic devices,” said OnLive chairman Gary Lauder. “Gamers can now enjoy hundreds of amazing console-quality games with no new hardware necessary beyond an OnLive controller and LG's fast and intuitive Google TV.”

This is not the first game-streaming service that LG has partnered with: back in January, Gaikai announced that its service would be integrated into LG Cinema 3D TVs.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now