Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Russia reviewing violent PC game restrictions

Russia reviewing violent PC game restrictions

Fri 09 Nov 2012 9:28pm GMT / 4:28pm EST / 1:28pm PST
Legal

Following a shooting spree, the Russian government looks into violent PC games

After a shooting spree this week, the Russian government is reviewing how violent PC games are handled within the region. Disgrunted lawyer Dmitry Vinogradov attacked the Rigla pharmaceutical warehouse where he worked this week, killing six colleagues. The attack reportedly stemmed from a breakup with a female coworker, but Russian authorities have also noted that the man was a fan of Rockstar's 2003 action snuff title Manhunt.

United Russia deputies Sergei Zheleznyak and Franz Klintsevich both made statements to Russian publications about the titles. Zheleznyak said that an inquiry needed to be made with the Russian Federal Surveillance Service for Mass Media and Communications in order for the game to be banned. Klintsevich went farther with his suggestion that access to violent games should be restricted in the region.

State Duma Committee on Education first deputy chairman Vladimir Burmatov said that there should be a commission to supervise PC game sales.

This is not the first time Manhunt has been linked to some controversy. In the UK, the game was initially linked to the murder of Stefan Pakeerah by his friend Warren Leblanc. The police publicly denied the link later. Manhunt has also been banned in New Zealand, Germany, Australia, and Ontario, Canada.

[Via Pravda.Ru and Moscow News]

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now