Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Gears of War franchise passes 19 million sales

Gears of War franchise passes 19 million sales

Thu 08 Nov 2012 9:02am GMT / 4:02am EST / 1:02am PST
RetailPublishing

Epic Games' trilogy has added 1 million sales this year alone

Epic Games' Gears of War trilogy has now sold more than 19 million units, Joystiq reports.

The new milestone is 1 million units higher than the figure revealed by Microsoft in July, suggesting that the series continues to perform well despite Gears of War 3 being released over a year ago.

Microsoft would not disclose Gears of War's exact sales, but its lifetime target was 6 million units and the first two Gears of War games had exceeded a combined total of 12 million sales as of June 2011.

The fourth game in the series, Gears of War: Judgment, will be released in March next year. It is developed by Epic's Polish subsidiary, People Can Fly.

1 Comment

Paul Jace Merchandiser

953 1,447 1.5
Thats not a bad milestone at all for 3 games and by the time GOW: Judgement has been out for a year the entire franchise will have sold 23-25 million.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now