Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

BioWare Mythic changes name to "Mythic"

BioWare Mythic changes name to "Mythic"

Thu 08 Nov 2012 2:39pm GMT / 9:39am EST / 6:39am PST
PublishingDevelopment

New name is significant of a "new focus" at the studio

BioWare Mythic is reclaiming its identity by changing its name back to “Mythic”.

The decision was announced on the Warhammer Online website. The new name is significant of a “new focus” at the studio, though no clues as to what that is were given.

“Everything else stays the same,” a statement on the website read. “Our passionate teams will continue to support and develop our existing titles as well as working on some new and exciting projects.

The company was known as “Mythic Entertainment” from 1997 until 2006, when it was renamed “EA Mythic” after being acquired by Electronic Arts. The name was changed back to “Mythic Entertainment” in 2008, before EA changed it to “BioWare Mythic” in 2009 in an attempt to leverage the popularity of the BioWare brand.

Mythic is currently working on Warhammer Online: Wrath of Heroes and Ultima Forever: Quest for the Avatar.

1 Comment

Malcolm Franks Studying T151 Digital worlds: designing games, creating alternative realities, Open University

5 20 4.0
Dark Age Of Camelot 2, please.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now