Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Verizon closing app store in Jan 2013

Verizon closing app store in Jan 2013

Tue 06 Nov 2012 1:42am GMT / 8:42pm EST / 5:42pm PST
Mobile

Verizon looks towards improving discovery through other means

North American mobile operator Verizon has announced that it will begin closing its Verizon Apps store for Android and Blackberry devices on January 2013. The company expects to complete the process by March of the same year. During the shutdown process, developers will continue to get payments and access to app metrics.

“We're evolving our strategy to further simplify today's experience and meet the needs of tomorrow,” said Verizon in its announcement. “We'll be introducing new merchandising strategies, starting with AppLuvr: an app that can help get your Android app discovered by millions of Verizon customers.”

Verizon will stop accepting app submissions this month as part of the shutdown process. Apps that require a monthly license check will also be removed from the Verizon app catalog this month.

The removal of the Verizon apps store means users have a slightly simplified list of places to purchase and download their Android and Blackberry apps.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now