Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gameloft sales in Q3 grow 37% on freemium success

Gameloft sales in Q3 grow 37% on freemium success

Mon 05 Nov 2012 6:46pm GMT / 1:46pm EST / 10:46am PST
MobileFinancial

The mobile publisher is seeing 60% of revenues come from in-app purchases and advertising

Digital games publisher Gameloft has announced that its third-quarter sales grew 37 percent to €55.4 million, while sales for the company's first nine months were up 28 percent to €150.6 million. While Gameloft publishes on digital platforms like Xbox Live, the majority of its growth is from smartphones and tablets, which combined saw growth of 124 percent for the company and accounted for 56 percent of total sales (compared to 34 percent a year ago).

Gameloft specifically cited its success with the freemium and paymium models, which it began using back in March 2011. In fact, 60 percent of of the company's smartphone revenues came from in-app purchases and advertising. Gameloft's monthly active users currently stands at 56 million.

With titles on the way like Modern Combat 4: Zero Hour, Zombiewood, Heroes of Order & Chaos, My Little Pony, Playmobil Pirates, and UNO & Friends, Gameloft expects more growth in the quarters ahead. The company is now expecting full-year sales to hit over €205 million, up 25 percent.

1 Comment

Alfonso Sexto Lead Tester, Ubisoft Germany

846 732 0.9
Gameloft made most of its wealth with cheap recreations of famous games. I cannot respect a company that follows that kind of practices.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now