Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Ragnar Tørnquist founds Red Thread Games

Ragnar Tørnquist founds Red Thread Games

Thu 01 Nov 2012 2:59pm GMT / 10:59am EDT / 7:59am PDT
PeopleGamesDevelopment

Secret World director starts his own studio, begins work on new Longest Journey game, Dreamfall Chapters

The former director of The Secret World has a new project to run. Ragnar Tørnquist has founded his own studio, Red Thread Games, and is working on a new installment of the critically acclaimed The Longest Journey franchise.

The Secret World developer Funcom today announced that it reached a licensing deal with Red Thread that will see the studio develop Dreamfall Chapters, the sequel to 2006's Dreamfall: The Longest Journey and 2000's original The Longest Journey.

As part of the agreement, Red Thread will fund and produce the game on its own, while Funcom will take a share of the revenues. Tørnquist has already confirmed through Twitter that the studio has received 1 million NOK (a little over $175,000) from the Norwegian Film Institute to fund pre-production. During development of Dreamfall Chapters, Tørnquist will also continue working with Funcom in an advisory capacity on The Secret World, though he will have the title of creative director.

Red Thread Games is based in Oslo, Norway. The studio has a stated focus to work on games in the Longest Journey franchise, as well as create original story-driven titles for PCs and mobile devices.

2 Comments

Kieren Bloomfield
Software Engineer

92 79 0.9
This made my day.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Richard Westmoreland
Game Desginer

138 89 0.6
Same here! The Longest Journey is one of my favourite games ever. Dreamfall was a little disappointing but I'm glad the story will continue and not remain on that cliffhanger for all of eternity.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now