Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sandy shuts down Activision data centres

Sandy shuts down Activision data centres

Wed 31 Oct 2012 9:01am GMT / 5:01am EDT / 2:01am PDT
Online

Call Of Duty and Guitar Hero multiplayer affected

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Hurricane Sandy, which has caused widespread damage across the east coast of America, has also damaged Activision data centres and shut down online play for a handful of titles.

"Due to the hurricane that affected the East Coast of the United States, multiplayer gaming with some of our online title is experiencing connectivity issues. We appreciate your patience," said an Activision statement.

One Of Swordsreports that the following games are affected:

  • Call of Duty: World at War (all platforms)
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (PS3)
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3, PC, Wii)
  • Guitar Hero (all titles and platforms)

The storm has also delayed midnight launches of Assassin's Creed III, and Take-Two postponed its quarterly earnings call until a more "practical" time.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now