Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Windows Phone 8 SDK released

Windows Phone 8 SDK released

Tue 30 Oct 2012 10:00pm GMT / 6:00pm EDT / 3:00pm PDT
Developer ToolsMobileDevelopment

Developers can finally jump on board with WP8… for only $8

Microsoft has finally released the Software Development Kit for its Windows Phone 8 mobile operating system. The launch was announced today at the company's BUILD 2012 conference and on the official Windows blog. Microsoft's Windows Phone general manager Kevin Gallo touted the company's focus on developer for this release.

"Of course, there's the developer opportunity," Gallo began in his post on the Windows blog. "Frankly, this was the easy part: we just delivered what you asked for. You told us you wanted native code, in-app-purchase, and more ways to reuse and port code-done, done, and done. More than 90 percent of the things you asked for, we added. These capabilities combined with new phone features like better Live Tiles, Lenses, NFC support, and custom app notifications and wallpaper on the lock screen mean that apps do more-and do it in more markets-on Windows Phone."

For the next 8 days, Microsoft is also lowering the fee for the Windows Phone 8 Dev Center to just $8. The account is required to release Windows Phone 8 app on the Windows Store and normally costs $99. Those interested will be charged for the full amount, with Microsoft refunding the $91 dollars in the next 30 to 45 days.

2 Comments

Ahmad Salman

13 0 0.0
What's the fee for developing apps for the Android and iOS?

Posted:A year ago

#1

Tom Keresztes
Programmer

644 260 0.4
$99 per year for Apple, Google and Amazon is $25.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now