Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision reveals Activate mobile-social platform

Activision reveals Activate mobile-social platform

Tue 30 Oct 2012 11:09am GMT / 7:09am EDT / 4:09am PDT
MobilePublishing

Will offer services like leaderboards and cloud storage

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision is launching its own mobile social network called Activate, and will use the service in future releases.

According to Inside Mobile Apps the first titles available on the service will be new iOS games Skylanders: Lost Islands and Skylanders: Battlegrounds.

The service is similar to those provided by Gree and DeNA and adds features like cloud storage for save games, friends lists, leaderboards, and achievements to Activision titles, all through a Facebook login and Activate account.

It's another sign that Activision is committed to mobile following the reveal of its freemium mobile games studio The Blast Furnace which is based in the UK and headed up by Former Rockstar Leeds boss Gordon Hall.

1 Comment

Bruce Everiss Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
We have one of these but haven't given it a name yet.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now