Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gamigo now owned by Samarion S.E.

Gamigo now owned by Samarion S.E.

Fri 26 Oct 2012 10:02am GMT / 6:02am EDT / 3:02am PDT
OnlinePublishing

German online gaming company sold by Axel Springer

Gamigo AG

gamigo AG, based in Hamburg and New York City, is one of the leading western publishers of Free-to-Play...

gamigo.com

The German online game publisher Gamigo is now entirely owned by investment company, Samarion S.E..

Samarion follows the multimedia company Axel Springer in ownership of Gamigo. A representative from Samarion stated that the acquisition will help strengthen the company's position in the online gaming market, as well as giving Gamigo better opportunities for future growth.

"With Samarion S.E. we want to strengthen our focus and make use of future growth opportunities, also through the consolidation of our market segment of online gaming," said Gamigo CMO Patrick Streppel.

Axel Springer has owned a stake in Gamigo since 2000, and acquired it outright in 2009. It will now concentrate on its core businesses: content portals, marketing and classifieds portals.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now