Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

League of Legends final attracts 8.2 million unique viewers

League of Legends final attracts 8.2 million unique viewers

Tue 23 Oct 2012 8:58am GMT / 4:58am EDT / 1:58am PDT
Publishing

China and Korea account for a quarter of the total audience

More than 8 million people watched the final of the second season of the League of Legends World Championship.

The final was held on Saturday October 13, attracting an audience of 8,282,000 unique viewers across its TV and online broadcasts. Around 2.4 million of those watching were based in China and Korea.

The final was attended by more than 8,000 people, but League of Legends seems to be the game that could finally push eSports into the mainstream. In total, across all users, the playoffs and finals were viewed for 24,230,688 hours.

At Gamescom this year, Riot Games co-founder Brandon Beck told GamesIndustry International about the company's ambition to make e-Sports a sustainable career for talented gamers.

"We don't have our sights set on replacing soccer right now, but we definitely think that e-sports has a place as a large, important, mainstream competitive activity," he said. "I fundamentally believe that e-sports will be an Olympic event in my lifetime."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now