Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PAX expands outside the US with Melbourne show

PAX expands outside the US with Melbourne show

Mon 22 Oct 2012 8:12am GMT / 4:12am EDT / 1:12am PDT
Events

Consumer games event sets Australian venue for next two years

Consumer video game show PAX is expanding outside of the US with a new show in Melbourne, Australia, in 2013 and 2014.

Penny Arcade will run the event in conjunction with ReedPOP, with next year's dates set for July 19-21.

"This is the first time the event has been held outside the United States and attracting PAX Australia to Melbourne was a major coup for Victoria," said Louise Asher, Victorian minister for Innovation, Services and Small Business.

"It is a great opportunity to showcase games culture in Australia to the rest of the world, and the exposure around the region and the world that Melbourne's games industry will gain from the event, and the number of international and domestic visitors that will be drawn to Melbourne, cannot be underestimated."

PAX is the largest consumer video games show in North America, held in Seattle since 2004. In 2010 it established a Boston spin-off.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now