Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Valve adds software category to Steam Greenlight

Valve adds software category to Steam Greenlight

Thu 18 Oct 2012 2:46am GMT / 10:46pm EDT / 7:46pm PDT
Retail

Now developers can add non-gaming software and projects to Greenlight

Valve has updated the community-based Steam Greenlight service with a new software category. The software section works just like the gaming section, allowing developers to post concepts and completed software for voting by fans. Winners will be periodically chosen by Valve, allowing those projects to be published on Steam.

Valve added the software category to the Steam on September 5.

2 Comments

Tim Carter Designer - Writer - Producer

579 322 0.6
I'm not sure what they mean by "publish". From what I can tell Steam doesn't publish via Greenlight. It only distributes.

Publishing implies paying an advance to assist production, or at least providing a purchase order (pre-sale) so a developer can raise funding from third-party investors or a bank.

Steam doesn't provide that assistance via Greenlight. From what I can tell. Or if they do, it isn't clear.

Edited 2 times. Last edit by Tim Carter on 18th October 2012 4:31pm

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Hugo Dubs Interactive Designer

163 24 0.1
At least people using greenlight can look for people's interest into their projects.
It a good start to contact "publishers" later on

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now