Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CD Projekt RED sends RedKit tool into closed beta

CD Projekt RED sends RedKit tool into closed beta

Thu 18 Oct 2012 9:48pm GMT / 5:48pm EDT / 2:48pm PDT
Developer Tools

The toolset will allow users to create their own RPG worlds

The Witcher 2 developer CD Projekt RED has revealed the beta version of its modding toolset, called REDKit. REDKit uses the studio's in-house REDengine and allows users to create their own RPG worlds or mod the existing Witcher 2. The toolset includes "advanced landscape design tools, 24-hour day-and-night-cycle simulations and thousands of ready-made assets used in The Witcher 2."

"REDkit is a fresh approach to RPG creation. No other tool makes it so easy to create adventures where the player's choices actually matter," said REDKit team developer Paweł Panasiuk.

REDKit is currently in the closed beta phase, with over 100 modding teams taking part. The entire toolset will be available for free in the first half of 2013. Users who own the Witcher 2 will also receive access to REDKit.

CD Projekt also announced the official title of its upcoming sci-fi RPG: Cyberpunk 2077. The game will be a "multi-thread, robust RPG, taking place in the sandbox environment of Night City". Cyberpunk 2077 will be an adaptation of the original pen-and-paper RPG, Cyberpunk 2020. No release date for the title was given.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now