Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

3DS and Square Enix rule Japanese charts

3DS and Square Enix rule Japanese charts

Thu 18 Oct 2012 7:48am GMT / 3:48am EDT / 12:48am PDT
Retail

Nintendo handheld and PS2 show sales increases in otherwise slow week

This week saw a fall in sales for the majority of the Japanese hardware chart with only the number one, the Nintendo 3DS, and the number 7, the Sony PS2, seeing boosts in sales.

Sales of the 3DS jumped from 63,669 to 79,300, a figure that puts it more than 50,000 units ahead of its closest rival, the Sony PS3.

The PS2's sales rise was a more modest one, from 894 units last week to 911 this week.

  1. Nintendo 3DS - 79,300 (63,669)
  2. Sony PS3 - 26,312 (42,218)
  3. Sony PSP - 15,585 (17,769)
  4. Sony Vita - 6,134 (7,957)
  5. Nintendo Wii - 4,476 (4,849)
  6. Microsoft Xbox 360 - 2,400 (4,894)
  7. Sony PS2 - 911 (894)
  8. Nintendo DSi - 537 (674)

In the software charts there were three new entries in the top five alone, but 3DS title Bravely Default: Flying Fairy hung on to number one.

  1. [New] Bravely Default: Flying Fairy (3DS, Square Enix)
  2. Resident Evil 6 (PS3, Capcom)
  3. [New] Project X Zone (3DS, Namco Bandai)
  4. World Soccer: Winning Eleven 2012 (PS3, Konami)
  5. [New] Toki to Towa (PS3, Namco Bandai)

Both charts cover the week ending October 14 and were compiled by Media Create, and published by Gematsu.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now