Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

38 Studios auction tallies $180k

38 Studios auction tallies $180k

Thu 18 Oct 2012 5:54pm GMT / 1:54pm EDT / 10:54am PDT
Business

First of several attempts to sell off assets of bankrupt developer in the books

When Curt Schilling's 38 Studios filed for bankruptcy in June, the company said it owed a total of $150.7 million to creditors. That number is closer to $150.5 million today, as the Associated Press is reporting the first of three auctions to sell off 38 Studios assets brought in $180,000.

Roughly 950 items from 38 Studios' Big Huge Games outfit in Maryland were sold off in the auction. Big Huge Games developed Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, the only title 38 Studios finished in its six-year history.

A second auction to sell off equipment from 38 Studios' Rhode Island headquarters is scheduled for Tuesday. The company's intellectual properties will also be auctioned off in a separate session expected to take place three months from now.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now