Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Outlast brings indie survival horror to PC in 2013

Outlast brings indie survival horror to PC in 2013

Wed 17 Oct 2012 9:42pm GMT / 5:42pm EDT / 2:42pm PDT

Montreal area veterans come together to form Red Barrels Games

Resident Evil 6 leaving behind survival horror for explosive action leaving you angry and despondent? Red Barrels Games, a new independent game studio founded in the Montreal area, has announced its first title, the single-player survival horror game Outlast. The title stars journalist Miles Upshur and is planned as PC digital download with a release in 2013.

The studio was founded by former Electronic Arts Montreal and Ubisoft Montreal employees: creative director Philippe Morin, art director Hugo Dallaire, and level designer David Chateauneuf.

"There are already a lot of great games out there about terrifying monsters that eat brains; we want Outlast's to be scary because you'll know the enemies you face still have them," said Philippe Morin, cofounder of Red Barrels.

"Our team has a lot of previous experience creating big, blockbuster games," said co-founder David Chateauneuf. "We're all really excited to see what kind of fear-based emotional rollercoaster we can build on our own!"

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now