Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Obsidian Kickstarter closes with nearly $4 million

Obsidian Kickstarter closes with nearly $4 million

Wed 17 Oct 2012 8:56am GMT / 4:56am EDT / 1:56am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Project Eternity surpasses Double Fine record by more than $600k

Obsidian Entertainment's Project Eternity Kickstarter campaign has closed with just under $4 million.

Project Eternity surpassed Double Fine Adventure's $3.3 million haul yesterday, setting a new record for a game project on the popular crowd-funding platform. Obsidian's final total was $3,986,929 from 73,986 backers.

Project Eternity's final $4 million stretch goal - which promised to "enhance the whole game," including "live instrumentation" on the game's soundtrack - was not met.

"Unfortunately this couldn't last for an Eternity, but it was an absolutely incredible run," a statement on the game's Kickstarter page read. "A profound thanks to all of you."

To read our interview with Obsidian co-founder Chris Avellone, in which he discusses crowd-funding in detail, follow the link.

2 Comments

Nick Wilson
Contributing Editor

2 0 0.0
They did reach $4,000,000 with the addition of the $140,000 from the paypal account. The stretch goal was met.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Curt Sampson
Sofware Developer

595 356 0.6
The official stats posted in the last Kickstarter update were:

Kickstarter: Backers: 73,986 Pledged: $3,986,929
PayPal: Backers: 3,681 Pledged: $176,279
Totals: Backers: 77,667 Pledged: $4,163,208

The Paypal amount will probably continue to go up as people add forgotten shipping costs, upgrade their pledges, and so forth. All in all, quite a nice little haul!

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now