Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

More than 5m PS3s sold in UK

More than 5m PS3s sold in UK

Thu 11 Oct 2012 9:02am GMT / 5:02am EDT / 2:02am PDT
Retail

SCEE celebrates milestone for console

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The Sony PlayStation 3 console has now sold more that 5 million units in the UK, after five years on sale.

"This is another historic moment for the PlayStation brand, and something I'm incredibly proud of," said Fergal Gara, SCEE VP and MD for UK and Ireland.

"I'd like to thank all our consumers, retailers and third party partners for helping us achieve this figure, and look forward to continued success"

The figure was backed up by data from GfK Chart-Track.

The PlayStation 3 launched in March 2007 in the UK, and has since adopted a slimmer design. A new 12GB model aimed at families will go on sale tomorrow.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now