Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

First free-to-play Xbox 360 game debuts next week

First free-to-play Xbox 360 game debuts next week

Thu 04 Oct 2012 8:37pm GMT / 4:37pm EDT / 1:37pm PDT
Free-to-Play

ToyLogic's Happy Wars launches Oct. 12 for Xbox Live Gold subscribers

The Xbox 360 will get its first free-to-play game next week, as Microsoft today confirmed the microtransaction-driven Happy Wars will launch October 12.

While the game uses a free-to-play business model, users will need to be active Xbox Live Gold subscribers in order to download the title. The multiplayer combat game drops gamers into 15-on-15 skirmishes. Each player's character will be completely customizable with thousands of items, including outfits, weapons, and shields. In addition to the large-scale multiplayer battles, the game will also feature an offline single-player campaign mode, co-op mode with computer-controlled adversaries, and more.

Although the ToyLogic-developed title is Xbox Live's first foray into free-to-play, it won't be the last. Signal Studios' Ascend: New Gods will rely on microtransactions for its money, and is set to launch next year.

2 Comments

Paul Johnson Managing Director / Lead code monkey, Rubicon Development

892 1,327 1.5
I predict many "OMG" stories about their earnings in the coming months...

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now