Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Steel Media acquires 148Apps

Steel Media acquires 148Apps

Wed 03 Oct 2012 8:01am GMT / 4:01am EDT / 1:01am PDT
Media

Mobile publishing group adds news and reviews site to portfolio

Steel Media, the group which owns the PocketGamer sites, Quality Index and AppSpy, has acquired 148Apps - a mobile news and reviews outlet.

148Apps was formed in 2008, following closely on the heels of the launch of Apple's App Store with an aim of directing readers to the best content available. Company founder Jeff Scott will remain at the company, in charge of US operations, alongside the rest of his team.

"It's a thrill to join Steel Media and become part of the team behind great sites like Pocket Gamer," said Scott. "Bringing 148Apps into the Steel Media portfolio of mobile focused sites allows us to create the broadest coverage of games and apps in the mobile space."

Included in the deal are sister sites 148Apps.biz, Android Rundown and Giggle Apps.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now