Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Steam opens non-game section

Steam opens non-game section

Tue 02 Oct 2012 6:49pm GMT / 2:49pm EDT / 11:49am PDT
Developer Tools

Valve begins digital distribution of creativity and productivity software, some with achievements

Steam is now about more than just games. Valve today opened up a new software section for its digital distribution storefront, offering applications like Game Maker: Studio and ArtRage Studio Pro alongside gaming hits like Half-Life and Skyrim.

The new section means more than just availability of the games on Valve's service. Some applications have also integrated Steamworks features like automatic updating and cloud-based storage for users' projects. Game Maker: Studio even has achievements for running different operating systems, or racking up 1,000 compile errors. Developers who want to sell their own productivity applications through Steam can submit them through the same Steam Greenlight process currently used for games.

As of this writing, Valve has fewer than a dozen offerings on the software storefront, ranging in cost from free (Source Filmmaker) to $350 (3D-Coat Professional). Steam is also offering early adopters a deal, taking 10 percent off all its creativity and productivity software for the first week.

1 Comment

Thiago Attianesi Creative Director, Fan Studios

59 2 0.0
Steam making a good job. Really interesting.

They need try new things to don't lose so much with Windows 8 this month.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now