Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Chasing Aurora dev finds Wii U more "indie-friendly" than Wii

Chasing Aurora dev finds Wii U more "indie-friendly" than Wii

Mon 01 Oct 2012 8:58pm GMT / 4:58pm EDT / 1:58pm PDT
Online

Martin Pichlmair says Nintendo is making the console more open for indies

Chasing Aurora developer Martin Pichlmair says that Nintendo is working hard to make the Wii U eShop friendly and open for independent developers.

"I cannot talk about the new eShop in detail. What I do know is that Nintendo is doing everything to make this console much more open, social and indie-friendly than the Wii ever was," he told the Official Nintendo Magazine.

"There are people at Nintendo who know where innovative games come from. And if you look at the launch lineup you can clearly see that those people have had a say in it. At the same time, the Wii U with its various controller configurations calls for experimental games of all kinds and Nintendo is always eager to have games make good use of its console's innovations," Pichlmair added.

The games on the Wii U eShop augment the system's impressive launch day line-up of 23 titles.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now